Thélème Cup 2024 : 6th Edition

17 January 2024

The 6th edition of the Thélème Cup, masterfully orchestrated by Charlie Hurstel, came to a close after five intense days of competition. The event featured two exciting tournaments: a handicap tournament and a level tournament. Having become a benchmark event for the Paris club and the French court tennis scene, the competition attracted numerous amateur players as well as young professionals from France, the USA and England, offering an invaluable opportunity to come face to face with a variety of playing styles.

In the handicap tournament, American Dan Kennedy dazzled spectators with his fearsome attacking shots and impressive serves. He qualified for the final after eliminating Tayt Baldwin and Charles Blanchot, and won this draw.

In the main draw, three-time winner Nicolas Victoir had to fight hard to defend his title. In the semi-finals, he came up against a strong playing Charlie Hurstel, who had earlier eliminated Lea Van Der Zwalmen in two sets. After an epic three-set match, Nicolas Victoir reached the final. On the other side of the draw, English star player Henry Henman, world number 1 junior, reached the final with flying colors, eliminating Charles Blanchot and Benjamin Jacquin in the semi-finals. 

The final match pitting the experience of Nicolas Victoir against the flamboyant youth of Henry Henman thrilled the spectators. After an intense confrontation, Henry won 2 sets to 0 with an exceptional level of play. Despite Nicolas' best efforts, young Henry showed his determination to win the title, winning over the capacity crowd. In addition to the magnificent trophy, the winner had the honor of receiving a superb personalized Thélème racket. 

This tournament once again demonstrated the excellence of the game of paume, in an exceptional sporting spirit, thanks to the support of many players. A special mention to Bill, who made it possible for absent players to follow the action from a distance, and to Guillaume and Baudouin for their outstanding refereeing work.


Gagnants précédents

    Année        Vainqueurs
2018Benjamin Jacquin
2019Adam Player
2020Nicolas Victoir
2021Non dispute
2022Nicolas Victoir
2023Nicolas Victoir bat Lea Van Der Zwalmen : 6/4, 6/4
2024 Henry Henman bat Nicolas Victoir  6-2, 6-4  
Retour en haut