Dedanists vs Paris

31 January 2024


27-30 January

An intrepid team of Dedanists visited Paris. We received a warm welcome from the Jeu de Paume club. Enormous thanks to Rod McNaughton for his help with the organization, despite just returning from surgery. This was his first day back. We were looked after by the bar team, with an enjoyable cold collation for both days.

Given the characteristics of the Paris court; we had a preparatory hit for a couple of hours on the Friday before a simple repast at Le Petit Retro. Most players staying in Victor Hugo, or the sister hotel Pascal, both within a 2-3 minute walk of the Jeu de Paume.

Trudy Machin was the player of the weekend, adapting to the court with ease. The Dedanist’s played with intensity and concentration against a strong opposition, with home court advantage. All the matches were keenly fought and could have gone either way. Rod had managed to create matches with balanced handicaps, only two matches required adjustment. An excellent result for the Dedanist’s, especially as we lost 8 nil last year.

At Victor's restaurant, we celebrating with members of the Jeu du Paume. Victors provided a great set menu with excellent wine

On the Sunday we played rolling doubles; using a system, picked up by Jonathan Ellis Miller on a recent tour of the US courts. We were joined by Emmanuel Foy and Jeremey Kreitz, both playing off 60 despite only taking up the game within the last year. The final repast was a brasserie on Rue Henry Poincore.

Je remercie Patricia Gallagher d’avoir pris les photos, avec sa générosité et son flair habituels.
I am grateful to Patricia Gallagher for taking photographs, with her customary generosity and flare. It was lovely to see Gil Kressman on court. I was glad to hear that Charles Heaton and his wife successfully negotiated the French farmers blockade to leave Paris for the Alpes without too much trouble. The rest of us arrived back in the UK to the ASLEF overtime ban.
J’ai été heureux d’apprendre que Charles Heaton et sa femme avaient réussi à négocier le blocus des agriculteurs français et à quitter Paris pour les Alpes sans trop de problèmes.Le reste d’entre nous est rentré au Royaume-Uni pour assister à l’interdiction des heures supplémentaires de l’ASLEF.

Chris Marguerie


Paris                                       Dedanists                                

Geurout/Fontaine                   vs         Jon Fistein/Ian Machin                        

Charton/St John-Webb           vs         Anthony Bailey/Trudy Machin           

Mariani/ Kressman            vs         Charles Heaton/Martin Village          

Salmon/Oddo                          vs         Jonathan Ellis-Miller/Simon Cripps   

Smart/Maguet                        vs         A Bailey/T Machin (gave 15 owe 15) 

Salmon/Chapellier                  vs         Chris Marguerie/François Ménage    

Oddo/Chapellier                     vs         C Marguerie/ François Ménage         

Mariani/Mallen                       vs         C Heaton/M Village                            

J Kreitz/E Foy   vs         J Ellis-Miller/ S Cripps                        

Zolidis/Heasler                        vs         J Fistein/I Machin                               





The Dedanists are a private club of real tennis enthusiasts who seek to share the virtues and pleasures of the game and raise funds for good causes, in particular real junior tennis. The club is also known as the Dedanists' Society. It was founded in 2002/3.
their activities include
(i) Organize tennis matches and social events for the entertainment of members (tennis matches, tournaments, dinners.....
(ii) Raise funds for good causes, in particular for junior tennis
(iii) Fund and manage the British Real Tennis Academy, the national training program for the country's best young players, men and women, aged 13 to 25.
The Society typically raises and spends £20,000 a year on the Academy. In recent years, the Academy has produced: (i) the first British Open singles champion since 1999; (ii) the youngest world singles champion with the lowest women's handicap ever recorded; (iii) US Open champions in men's and women's singles; (iv) the youngest British amateur singles champion.

Retour en haut

Dedanists vs Paris

31 janvier 2024


27-30 janvier

Une équipe intrépide de Dedanistes s’est rendue à Paris. Nous avons reçu un accueil chaleureux de la part du club du Jeu de Paume. Un grand merci à Rod McNaughton pour son aide dans l’organisation, bien qu’il revienne tout juste d’une opération chirurgicale. C’était son premier jour de retour. L’équipe du bar s’est occupée de nous, avec une collation froide agréable pour les deux jours.

Etant donné les caractéristiques du court de Paris, nous avons eu un hit préparatoire de quelques heures le vendredi avant un simple repas au Petit Retro.La plupart des joueurs ont séjourné à l’hôtel Victor Hugo ou à l’hôtel Pascal, tous deux situés à 2-3 minutes à pied du Jeu de Paume.

Trudy Machin a été la joueuse du week-end, s’adaptant au terrain avec facilité. Les Dedanistes ont joué avec intensité et concentration contre une forte opposition, avec l’avantage du terrain. Tous les matches ont été âprement disputés et auraient pu basculer d’un côté ou de l’autre. Rod a réussi à créer des matchs avec des handicaps équilibrés, seuls deux matchs ont nécessité un ajustement. Un excellent résultat pour les Dedanistes, d’autant plus que nous avions perdu 8 à 0 l’année dernière.

Au restaurant Victors, nous avons fêté avec des membres du Jeu du Paume. Victors nous a servi un excellent menu accompagné d’un excellent vin.

Le dimanche, nous avons joué des doubles roulants, en utilisant un système découvert par Jonathan Ellis Miller lors d’une récente visite des courts américains. Nous avons été rejoints par Emmanuel Foy et Jeremey Kreitz, tous deux jouant à 60 ans alors qu’ils n’ont commencé à jouer que l’année dernière.Le dernier repas a eu lieu dans une brasserie de la rue Henry Poincore.

Je remercie Patricia Gallagher d’avoir pris les photos, avec sa générosité et son flair habituels.
J’ai été ravi de voir Gil Kressman sur le terrain.
J’ai été heureux d’apprendre que Charles Heaton et sa femme avaient réussi à négocier le blocus des agriculteurs français et à quitter Paris pour les Alpes sans trop de problèmes.Le reste d’entre nous est rentré au Royaume-Uni pour assister à l’interdiction des heures supplémentaires de l’ASLEF.

Chris Marguerie


Paris                                       Dedanists                                

Geurout/Fontaine                   vs         Jon Fistein/Ian Machin                        

Charton/St John-Webb           vs         Anthony Bailey/Trudy Machin           

Mariani/ Kressman            vs         Charles Heaton/Martin Village          

Salmon/Oddo                          vs         Jonathan Ellis-Miller/Simon Cripps   

Smart/Maguet                        vs         A Bailey/T Machin (gave 15 owe 15) 

Salmon/Chapellier                  vs         Chris Marguerie/François Ménage    

Oddo/Chapellier                     vs         C Marguerie/ François Ménage         

Mariani/Mallen                       vs         C Heaton/M Village                            

J Kreitz/E Foy   vs         J Ellis-Miller/ S Cripps                        

Zolidis/Heasler                        vs         J Fistein/I Machin                               





Les Dedanistes sont un club privé de passionnés de vrai tennis qui cherchent à partager les vertus et les plaisirs du jeu et à collecter des fonds pour de bonnes causes, en particulier le vrai tennis junior. Le club est également connu sous le nom de Dedanists’ Society. Il a été fondé en 2002/3.
Ses activités sont les suivantes
(i) Organiser des rencontres de tennis et des événements sociaux pour le divertissement des membres (matchs de tennis, tournois, dîners…..)
(ii) Collecter des fonds pour de bonnes causes, en particulier pour le tennis junior.
(iii) Financer et gérer la British Real Tennis Academy, le programme national d’entraînement pour les meilleurs jeunes joueurs du pays, hommes et femmes, âgés de 13 à 25 ans.
La Société collecte et dépense généralement 20 000 £ par an pour l’Académie. Au cours des dernières années, l’Académie a produit : (i) le premier champion de l’Open britannique en simple depuis 1999 ; (ii) la plus jeune championne du monde en simple avec le plus faible handicap féminin jamais enregistré ; (iii) les champions de l’US Open en simple masculin et féminin ; (iv) le plus jeune champion amateur britannique en simple …………

Retour en haut